More Cars, Fewer Words

6 06 2012

Technically it’s wordless Wednesday. I successfully did that once but I’m not a wordless kind of a guy so I’ll go for a less wordy Wednesday. 🙂

This one was my favorite shoot of this set. You already know I love textures so the rust going on here was really awesome for me. A tip for other photo bloggers, the first picture of your set is the one that shows up in the reader if someone is browsing “Photography” or some other tag you have on your post. Open strong to engage new readers.

The deeper into the junkyard I got, the less kept up the cars looked. These guys were overrun with bushes and weeds. I think the emotion people identify with most strongly is that of hardship or being overpowered. Whether it be you personally or if you feel your beliefs, morals, ideals or mindset is being choked out by society, everyone has struggled with not fitting in. Being overtake by the social norm, peer pressure. It’s good to know what emotions stir people, when you can recreate those emotions through pictures you can tell a lot more than a story, you can share a feeling.

I bet this guy was a hot rod in his day. There’s just something about these old cars that gets me. 🙂

Thanks for visiting this picture filled post today. I promise to have something more to say in my next post :). Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think of the pictures. You can follow the blog if you like what you see! Thanks for visiting, God bless and happy Wednesday, you’re halfway to the weekend! -Arley

Actions

Information

55 responses

6 06 2012
kentiki

They are like the most wonderful cartoons come to life. Great shots. They make me wanna take all of the cars home.

6 06 2012
96arley

Thank you, I love that description!

6 06 2012
fgassette

I also like textures. Your photos are wonderful. Thank you for the information on first photo displayed on blogs. I will certainly keep this in mind for future posts.

BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

6 06 2012
96arley

No problem, I’m glad you enjoyed it

6 06 2012
Sarah Sims

Isn’t it funny how hard it is to be wordless when the post is really about the photos? I have the same trouble. I love the cars. After stumbling on an old rusted out truck a couple of weeks ago, I’ve developed a strange fascination with old cars, their lines are just so different from today’s cars. I passed a truck parked in someone’s drive yesterday and am working up the courage to go back and ask them if I can shoot it! Seems a little strange though!

6 06 2012
96arley

It’s so very hard to be wordless, haha! They really have a whole different character don’t they

6 06 2012
Ellis PIctures

Hi Arley, Great shots there, I wish I had access to those kind of cars, they are soooo cool!!. have you seen the american muscle cars I have posted on my blog, I have a few more to post over the next few days or so. Great work Arley!!

6 06 2012
96arley

After spending a bit of time on your blog I’m realizing I haven’t given it near the attention it deserves. Your photos are really fantastic. I’m probably going to have to send some people your way this week 🙂

6 06 2012
Ellis PIctures

Thank you very much Arley for your kind comments I appreciate them a lot, I have a few more here on my facebook album which I will be uploading to my blog over the next few days, so you get a front seat as it were lol, hope you like them my personal favourite is the ponti rat http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.210824735704430.43881.100003307154983&type=3

6 06 2012
bulldogsturf

Some how I think some of these cars could with a bit of attention could be worth a pretty penny. Wordless Wednesday, impossible for a verbose idiot like me…

6 06 2012
96arley

I sympathize on both points!

6 06 2012
kocart

This is my favorite set so far. I especially enjoy your commentary. What a microcosm of what is truly happening to us. The car peeking out from under tires is my favorite. Yes, I will share this page too today.

kristen

6 06 2012
96arley

Thanks Kristen, you don’t know how much it helps hearing which pictures and posts people really enjoy the most! Microcosm, great word 🙂 and thanks for sharing!

6 06 2012
stoppingpuncheswithmyface

beautiful

6 06 2012
96arley

Thanks punch, I appreciate it

6 06 2012
stoppingpuncheswithmyface

Ha! I’m not cool enough to have a nickname like “punch”, Kirk is fine. Something about the design of these old cars that reminds you of a different time…

6 06 2012
96arley

I completely agree, not about the not cool part, about the old cars. 🙂 I was just going for a play on your username

6 06 2012
rigmover

More great cars and great photo’s, thanks

6 06 2012
96arley

You’re most certainly welcome 🙂

6 06 2012
Andra Watkins

Really love the one consumed by the shrubbery.

7 06 2012
96arley

Thanks, me too

6 06 2012
Mary Lou Rutledge

Mighty fine texture!

7 06 2012
96arley

🙂 mighty fine choice of words, I appreciate it!

6 06 2012
Truels

Those cars are wonderful – for photographing – and probably HAVE BEEN wonderful for driving! You were lucky to find them!

7 06 2012
96arley

I bet so, I would love to take one of them out for a spin today if they still ran!

6 06 2012
John

Great post! Those cars are great for someone with the money and desire to bring them back to life. Nice bone yard!

7 06 2012
96arley

I think these in particular mostly serve as spare parts for those people.

6 06 2012
bluelyon

Great photos. I especially like the fifth one from the top. Good composition in your photographs and the somewhat muted tones really add to them.

7 06 2012
96arley

Thanks, I appreciate the feedback!

6 06 2012
kelseyreinhart

I nominated you for some blogger awards! Check it out here. http://kelseyreinhart.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/i-was-nominated-again/

7 06 2012
96arley

Thank you for the nomination. I don’t typically post these awards on my blog anymore but I am very grateful you thought of me!

8 06 2012
kelseyreinhart

You’re welcome, and I understand!

6 06 2012
ballardstudio

I love classic cars! This is awesome.

7 06 2012
96arley

Thanks!

6 06 2012
artsifrtsy

I was kicked out of a junkyard a while back when the owner thought I might be shooting images of gas tanks or something – its a shame, he had so much cool stuff. I need to see if I can get back in – you’ve inspired me:) Love the shots!

7 06 2012
96arley

Business owners are always suspicious of a camera, I don blame them! It doesn’t help when you walk into a junkyard in khakis and a polo carrying a Nikon D3s and suggest that you’re “Just doing this for your photo blog.” I suppose our lives just sound like a cover story, lol

4 07 2012
kocart

The blog answer flies a little better if the questioner is under twenty years old, in my experience. But if the blogger is a middle aged female who looks like a lost tourist, that probably helps too.
http://ourgrandfathersgrainelevators.com/
The latest here at our blog shows how it works for the most part when I am out shooting.

6 06 2012
victoriaaphotography

I love the rusted cars choked with bushes & weeds the most and thanks for the tip about the 1st photo on one’s blog being the ‘drawcard’ for new viewers too.

7 06 2012
96arley

No worries, maybe I should just do a post on “making friends” one day. 🙂

9 06 2012
teepee12

You’ve been nominated by me for the Versatile Blogger’s award. Which also means you won! Check it out — http://teepee12.wordpress.com/2012/06/09/im-a-versatile-blogger-thank-you/ !

9 06 2012
Rebecca Booth

Fantastic pictures! I love these old cars, they have an element of sadness 🙂

12 06 2012
sued51

Arley, love the topic…the old cars. There is that certain sadness and regret element.
Also, thanks for the tip about putting the best photo first.

13 06 2012
Meredith Barnes

Hi there! I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award…I love stopping by and seeing your posts!

27 06 2012
Lorre

Really great pics.

28 06 2012
Stefan (maxima)

Your photos are wonderful.!

29 06 2012
Joseph de Lange

This makes me (for the first time) want to visit a junkyard. Love the photographs

3 07 2012
The World Is My Cuttlefish

Thanks for the tip.
Amazing how many interesting angles there are to a car. I like the rust too.

3 07 2012
leng xuetian(冷雪天)

I like these car in the bush. 🙂

23 07 2012
Meredith Barnes

Hi there! I nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award! Check out the link here –
http://whatiseerightnow.wordpress.com/2012/07/23/inspirational-inspiration/
Hope you are doing well 🙂

1 08 2012
Saunved

Hi! I love seeing the pics on your blog. They are really innovative. So, I wanted to nominate you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award! Here’s the link:
http://saunved.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

8 08 2012
SLR - See Love Remember

Hi Arley,

I see someone had the same idea as I did! 😉 You can add the One Lovely Blog Award to the repertoire 😀
http://seeloveremember.wordpress.com/appreciation/

Keep it up!

Suze

16 08 2012
lovemorestudio

I love seeing these old cars– no one in the future will ever enjoy taking photos of old Camrys or Accords…thanks for coming by and liking my post at LoveMore Studio~ peace, Jason

17 08 2012
96arley

I’m sure we’d be surprised by what catches the next generations eye 🙂

20 08 2012
lovemorestudio

I hope you are right:)

18 09 2012
Eric at A Lego a Day

Haunting and sad, but beautiful. Well done.

Leave a Reply

