Born in The South, Raised in a Glass

1 06 2012

If you’re from the south like I am, than you know the title of this post is talking about that “Singular Soft Drink of the South,” the ever alliterative, Cheerwine. Before you ask, no this is not a sponsored post, but if the fine folks over at Cheerwine want to send me a case, I’d be more than happy to accept :). I’m sure you’re wondering by now if I’ll ever get to the point so I won’t keep you waiting any longer. Amid my journeys through the rural roads of South Carolina, I came upon a closed up shop, with a Cheerwine vending machine.

I had already passed the store but I doubled back to take a few shots. I would miss a lot of pictures if I didn’t make my mind up a long time ago to double back often. Anything that catches your eye is worth a u-turn and a few extra minutes. Normally I get frustrated with power lines in my pictures. They look tacky in the background of portraits or churches and especially sunsets, but in a shot like this they actually compliment the image. The difference is they tell a story. They become part of a bigger story of a little general store that needed electricity for their Cheerwine machine and their energy efficient light-bulbs. 🙂

The toughest decision here was if I wanted the white post in my foreground. The argument here is that it takes away from the subject, (the drink machine), but adds to the atmosphere of the old store. I left it. Sometimes a little distraction from a dominant subject will force your viewer to take in the whole image instead of just a key feature of it.

Hope you enjoyed today’s short post. I also hope the past few days I have managed to build a bit of anticipation for the old cars series, I’m very excited about sharing them, mostly because I’ve only had a few chances to shoot old cars and they’re a lot of fun. Thanks for visiting, as always I love reading and responding to your comments. If you would like to share anything you see here you are welcome to do so, please mention shootabout if you do though. Happy Friday! God Bless!

P.S. If you want to let Cheerwine know you heard about them on shootabout, you can do it here and make my day 🙂 there’s also a link at the top of that page where you can order some Cheerwine, it’s delicious 🙂

Actions

Information

35 responses

1 06 2012
zensouth

Cheerwine IS delicious. I can get it sometimes in Athens, GA, if I’m at the right convenience store. It’s kinda like Dr. Pepper . . . sort of.

1 06 2012
96arley

I always describe it as a Dr. Pepper a bit heavy on the cherry 🙂

1 06 2012
Regina (Gina) Arnold

Wow! Great shots and I agree that sometimes they’re worth doubling back for.

1 06 2012
96arley

Thanks, I’m glad you liked them

1 06 2012
Mary Lou Rutledge

I’ve never had Cheerwine!! Shameful! I’m a definite double backer though.
Funny post.

1 06 2012
96arley

You ought to be able to find one somewhere in Va.

1 06 2012
davidoakesimages

Cheerwine ?????? now thats a new one on me.

1 06 2012
96arley

You can barely find them in the south in the USA, you’d probably have a tough time coming by one across the pond.

1 06 2012
winstonsahd

One of my earlier posts (http://winstonsahd.wordpress.com/2011/07/25/12-of-365/) is a picture of my niece holding a bottle of Cheerwine that we shared. It was our mutual first Cheerwine experience and I’m kinda “meh” about it. Your pictures are nice though.

1 06 2012
96arley

It’s a bit of an acquired taste and I actually prefer the diet anyways. Thanks! 🙂

1 06 2012
John

Never heard of this, sounds good. Searched on their site, no locations up here in Michigan. Sent an email to them. Thanks!

1 06 2012
96arley

It’s a bit of a local thing.

1 06 2012
kocart

I am liking your perspective. Keep them coming.

5 06 2012
96arley

Definitely will, thanks!

1 06 2012
Dezra Despain

Gotta keep that Cheerwine cold! I’ve never heard of it until now and since I love Dr. Pepper, I bet I’d like Cheerwine. Next time I’m in the South, I’ll look for it. What really tickles me…or astounds me…is the misspelled sign. Varity. Love it! The other thing I like doing when I look at location photos is to see if I can tell what more of the story there is. For example, I am getting the notion that this little store is on a corner by older houses. A white house, to be exact. Lots of little clues to tell more of the story.

5 06 2012
96arley

LOL, I’ve been in the south WAY too long, I didn’t even notice the misspelled sign! I imagine the little store served it’s fair share of little white house dwellers, it’s near a pretty busy road now.

1 06 2012
Kay-Kay's Bird Club

never heard of cheerwine, but now I wanna try it! I too find myself circling back around places all the time to take a picture. There’s no other way.
I love pictures of old buildings, theyre one of my favorite subjects

5 06 2012
96arley

I wouldn’t mind getting to spend a month doing modern architecture but living in the south makes old structures a lot easier to find

1 06 2012
Andra Watkins

I didn’t see anything in the first photo but the Cheerwine. I am too Southern for my own good.

5 06 2012
96arley

lol, I’m right there with you 🙂

2 06 2012
southernjohnson

I’ve never heard of that before! Cool post! 🙂

5 06 2012
96arley

Glad I’m enlightening the world 🙂

2 06 2012
2 Rivers Photos

Never heard of it until now 🙂

2 06 2012
sued51

But you never told us what it tastes like??
Dr. Pepper? Cherry coke?

5 06 2012
96arley

A bit of a cross of the two actually

2 06 2012
lulu

I so enjoy what you see and how you see it.

5 06 2012
96arley

Thanks, I’m glad I get to share my perspective with so many people (and especially glad so many of them enjoy it)

3 06 2012
Russell Chapman

You should try Irn Bru, It outsells Coca Cola in Scotland 🙂

5 06 2012
96arley

After reading the Wiki page I’m ready to buy a crate based solely on the genius and controversial advertising campaigns

3 06 2012
sarah

My hubby used to work in NC and tell me stories about the south, especially about cheerwine commercials haha. I personally hate photos with power lines in it as well, but I do agree with you that this one works in your photo.

5 06 2012
96arley

The commercials really are a kick, all of the stories are “true” too 🙂

4 06 2012
shrey2012

hi,I have nominated you for Versatile blogge award ..!! Smile please 😀
( http://shreyandpixlar.wordpress.com/2012/06/04/i-would-like-to-30/ ) do have a look and plese read the instructions carefully .. 😀 have a great day..!! 😀

5 06 2012
96arley

Thanks for the nomination! I’m flattered I made your list but I think I’ve already gotten that one. Thanks again though!

5 06 2012
Meredith Barnes

I LOVE Cheerwine!! Kroger sells it here in Richmond VA in a 6 pack of glass bottles. I think I’ll go have one now 🙂

5 06 2012
96arley

Haha, glad I inspired you to go get one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

