Buildings are People Too

31 05 2012

I absolutely love old buildings. I could spend hours taking pictures of barns and old warehouses, closed manufacturing facilities. The inherent risk of going inside them is both thrilling and often illegal so always check first. Unfortunately I couldn’t get approval to go inside anything for this shoot but I got some really great stuff around this old place.

I’m not exactly sure what one would call this. It feels a bit like a barn but without the big barn doors and livestock stalls inside I suppose it was just an old storage building. I framed the sun right on the edge of the roof to get the little star-burst you see here. If you look on the right side of the picture, you can actually see the tree from yesterdays post. 🙂 One of the really interesting aspects of this building is the foliage growing up the sides. I decided to get a closer look.

Frankly this is all a little too dead for me. The mood of this image is really dark and gloomy. A sprinkle of light could have made those dark vines interesting but I just find them a little depressing here. It’s not usually a mood I go for on shootabout but it’s good to know how to create a discouraging image. When you’re taking a photograph, you want to capture the essence of your subject. This old building is well out of its glory years and is now no more than a crumbling tribute to its former purpose. When you think about it that way, I guess this picture does the job.

This shot was my favorite of the set. In contrast to the previous image, the ivy growing on the building gives it a since of life but still respects its age. You don’t lose the ancient feeling but the subject is so filled with life it begins to feel more like an old friend than a decrepit stranger. I suppose the most interesting part of this shot is that I feel so comfortable personifying it. Once you start to think of a structure as having character and personality, you know you’ve done it some justice in your photograph.

Thanks for stopping by today. I always enjoy hearing from you in the comments below. If you’re a first time visitor I would love to have you join the circle of friends following my blog. My favorite part about the blog is when I submit a post and immediately wonder “What will Rich or Dezra or Victoria or Mary Lou or Andra say.” (Those are my top commentors and all fantastic bloggers that you should check out 🙂 )

Anyways, thanks for stopping by! Everything you see here is the intellectual property of Arley Hendrick. Copying anything in whole or part is strictly encouraged provided you mention the blog with a link when you do it. 🙂 Have a great day and God Bless!

Actions

Information

26 responses

31 05 2012
michellesmutterings

Nice shots! In the 3rd photo the light almost makes it look like a different building. Love the description in the second shot.. spot on!

1 06 2012
96arley

Thanks, I thought so too, the ivy on that side of the building was also alive (thanks to the sunlight)

31 05 2012
rigmover

Yeah the last one is my fav as well, great photo’s

1 06 2012
96arley

Thanks, I’, glad you liked them

31 05 2012
Jeremy

I too, love old buildings; thay have so much character! I like the 2nd one the best. Do you think some fill flash or HDR would improve or hurt the first two images, to bring out the building some?

31 05 2012
96arley

I use flash very sparingly but I would love to play around with HDR. I haven’t done much yet but it might be a good location for it. Thanks for the suggestion!

31 05 2012
Jeremy

ok, cool. I’m also not a big flash person, and keep meaning to try HDR, I look forward to seeing what you eventually do !

31 05 2012
ladyfi

Stunning shots. Love the rays in the first one.

1 06 2012
96arley

Thanks, I’m glad you liked it

31 05 2012
Mary Lou Rutledge

I say you and I are on the same page today. I wish I had your gift for words to describe my photos. Thanks for the mention, my friend.

1 06 2012
96arley

Finally had a chance to take a peek at your blog and you’re absolutely right. I would’ve linked to that post if I had seen it earlier yesterday 🙂 Gorgeous shots by the way

31 05 2012
Marcel

I’m a fan of old buildings to …… but I seem to have trouble staying out of them 🙂

1 06 2012
96arley

One of my recent client shoots I took a few models into an old abandoned mill. That was a lot of fun, the light was crazy

31 05 2012
Regina (Gina) Arnold

Old buildings are so cool. I like the third image the best because the green of the vines give the building a sense of “life.”

1 06 2012
96arley

Well said, I agree with you. That’s why I let the light change so much from the dark I was working with before.

31 05 2012
Andra Watkins

I really like the third one. It looks very South Carolina. 🙂

31 05 2012
trail-hike-life

I agree with you.

1 06 2012
96arley

It does doesn’t it 🙂

31 05 2012
davidoakesimages

Some building do seem to talk to you….well at least give off that feeling of being more than stone/brick/wood or whatever they are made off. Cathedrals I find very moving (yet I am not religious) and many old properties have a depth of feeling to them. Modern concrete and glass seem sole-less

1 06 2012
96arley

I like what you said there. I agree to an extent that modern architecture conveys very different emotion than it did in years long past

31 05 2012
Dezra Despain

Oddly enough, I like the second one because it tells the intimate story of a building in decline, no longer in the prime of life–long past its days in the sun. However, it doesn’t work without the beauty of the the third photo. Seeing both juxtaposed next to each other tells a great story. And thanks for the mention! How very nice of you to do so. 🙂

1 06 2012
96arley

You’re welcome, thank you for constantly sharing feedback on my pictures!

31 05 2012
fgassette

Great shots. I also love photographing old buildings. Thanks for sharing.

BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

1 06 2012
96arley

Old Buildings do make really great subjects

31 05 2012
victoriaaphotography

Love that last shot – it really makes my heart ache for the past and the country. Greenery & vines growing up old buildings add a nice bit of texture to relieve the straight lines of the wooden walls.

I don’t know whether it’s my computer setting, but I can hardly see any details of the darker images (ie #1 & #2) – well, not enough to see what you’re taking a shot of.

I used to have my screen brightness very low (as I’m sensitive to light), but have set it on 50% about 3 months ago and notice many of my old 2011 images on my photoblog look a little washed out. Hopefully, changing the screen contrast to 50% will fix the future photos I post. Same with colour.

I guess that’s one of the things we have to be mindful of when posting photos on the internet to share – how others with varying computer resolutions and screen sizes view our photos. I now notice one of the blogs I follow (& only one) has very, very bright colours in his photos (not yours Arley) – something I never noticed before. Makes me wonder what brightness setting he has his own computer set at.

1 06 2012
96arley

Thanks for the feedback Victoria. Stylistically, I like dark images. Unfortunately I also use a mac which provides the most incredible color and brightness of any computer on the planet. Put these two together and the already darker image no my Mac becomes very hard to see on many monitors. I try to be mindful of it but in this day and age it’s hard to Taylor your images to every screen setting, I’ll try to keep it in mind to lighten them a little bit before exporting for the sake of all my PC using friends.

Leave a Reply

