Art in Construction

22 05 2012

I’ve always found construction beautiful. Not only because my father is in the building materials industry and it kept the lights on, but also because it is fascinating to see the way things come together under the surface. Yesterday I was fortunate enough to stumble upon a construction crew working on a new concessions stand for the football field beside portable row. My most striking observation of the afternoon was simply that for something new to be built, something old had to be torn down.

Breaking Down the Old Stand

I felt like I was getting back to my roots doing such editorial styled work. (I started out in photography taking pictures for a local web based news paper.) What I really like about this image is the variety of color. I liked the way the grey of the old building is contrasted by the red saw horse, the blue trash can, the yellow backhoe and the green trees. The image only appealed more after I took a second look at it on my computer.

Tools of the Trade

I knew as soon as I saw this saw I wanted to get close and low. If you know what you’re looking at, the outlines of the grey portables in the background are distinguishable. I really like the variety of background colors between the teeth of the saw. The rust adds a little character to the blade. Modern can be beautiful but it just doesn’t speak to you the same way age does. I focused on the uppermost part of the blade to draw your eyes up to the brightest part of the image. This shot is almost therapeutic for me, it’s a relaxing picture to let your eyes wander over.

The King of Construction

This dapper fellow reluctantly gave me a smile. He was introduced to me only as the king of construction. This is a fairly straightforward snapshot. A picture like this leans more heavily on the subject and their level of mystique than it does on composition or any other typical photography rules. My only advice for capturing this sort of shot is be ready, and be friendly. Street pictures of people are tricky, not just because you have to have timing and an interesting subject, but also because you have to be careful not to make anyone angry. If you’re a photographer in America, you legally have the right to take a picture of almost anyone or anything in a public place, but that doesn’t stop a big burly guy from taking a swing at you (and your camera.) I’ve found though that nearly every questioning glare, is easily diffused with a smile. 🙂

Thats it for today, I have laundry to finish and lots of blogs to catch up with. I hope you enjoyed todays entry and I would love to hear your feedback in the comments section below. First time visitor? Don’t forget to follow the blog to keep up with new posts via email notification. Social links for Facebook and Twitter are up there somewhere. If you want to help me out, tell your friends about the blog. Stumble, tweet, press me, the whole nine yards. The more the merrier. 🙂

Thanks for visiting and God Bless!

Actions

Information

15 responses

22 05 2012
Sarah Sims

nice images. i love it when I stumble upon a “photo op” in the everyday of life.

22 05 2012
96arley

Thanks, it’s a great feeling isn’t it? 🙂

22 05 2012
kocart

I’m with you, loving construction pictures. Grain elevators have captured our imaginations, and they provide endless image possibilities (we even blog about them). One of the most compelling images from one of my latest efforts was a cherry picker and backhoe tearing down an old wooden elevator. (I will get you a copy if you like). The textures and colors were gorgeous. Thanks for sharing your unique perspective,

22 05 2012
96arley

I would love to see it!

22 05 2012
Jester Who-ver

Very well done with the saw blade!

22 05 2012
96arley

Thanks, it was my favorite too

22 05 2012
lulu

Taking photos of the ordinary is my favorite activity with a camera. I like what/who you saw and how you shot it.

22 05 2012
96arley

Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed it

23 05 2012
Mary Lou Rutledge

You’re such a breath of fresh air!
Love the saw picture. Good post.

23 05 2012
96arley

Thanks Mary. Always a pleasure to see your comments and such around the blog. The saw is my favorite too 🙂

23 05 2012
Dezra Despain

This is wonderful! I love editorial photos…or photo journalism. I love the stories through both photo and words. This is a wonderful addition to the previous posts about this area. Glad you are covering it and sharing it.

23 05 2012
96arley

Thanks for the feedback Dezra, I’m glad you’re enjoying it!

23 05 2012
Inga

The shot of the saw blade is fantastic! 🙂

23 05 2012
96arley

Thanks Inga, glad you liked it!

23 05 2012
victoriaaphotography

I like that saw blade image also (& the blur in the background).

Leave a Reply

