Exciting News and Some Shots around My Apartment

23 01 2012

First off I am excited to announce Shootabout now has its own domain. Be sure to bookmark http://www.shootabout.com to make it easy to stop in and see me 🙂 Now, on to the pictures.

With the weather looking dreary, I decided to spend some of my free time looking around my apartment for an unusual way to shoot some of my stuff. My dad gave me an old stereo a while back and I really like the way the oversize knobs looked. I got in close with a short depth of field and lit them with a hand-held flashlight from above to get deep shadows.

I bought these shoes about a month ago. I usually stick to a cheap pair of New Balances for my sneakers but I had been watching these for months, something about them really caught my eye, so I bought them. I was walking into my room with my camera and they were sitting there by my couch. I got in tight with my 60mm macro and shot a few snaps. They weren’t actually on a black background, It’s just dark under my couch 🙂

About a week ago, I bent up a metal coat hangar and made a make shift jewelry rack to hang in my closet. I wanted to include it in this series because it’s in my apartment and it’s something I spent a little time doing. It’s nothing fancy and you can’t even see it in the picture but there’s something about taking a picture of something that’s connected to you, even if you’re the only one that knows.

I want to send out a challenge. Either take a few pictures around your residence or photograph something with special meaning to you. Email me the picture with a link to your blog or website and a few sentences about the picture, and I’ll select a few to include in a future post, along with credit to you and a link to your blog. I love to hear from you so leave some feedback in the comments and don’t forget to follow the blog so you don’t miss a shootabout!

Actions

Information

29 responses

23 01 2012
seekraz

I really enjoy the macro shots…nicely done.

23 01 2012
96arley

Thanks, I’m afraid I’m turning into a one trick pony, I’ll include some big pictures in my next shootabout too 🙂

23 01 2012
Gail Schechter

very nice creative shots!

23 01 2012
96arley

Thanks Gail!

23 01 2012
adrianpym

Rising to the challenge – e-mail on its way……

23 01 2012
96arley

Thanks Adrian, just looked through the email and I love the pictures. Very nice macro work.

23 01 2012
adrianpym

Thanks.

23 01 2012
Chillbrook

Nice pictures. I don’t as yet have a macro lens but it’s certainly an area of photography I’d like to explore. I’ll email a pic.

23 01 2012
96arley

Thanks Chillbrook, I’m looking forward to seeing your email. I love your pictures. It never ceases to amaze me how many beautiful photographs you manage to find in your backyard or close to your home. I wish the “Charlestown” (Charleston, SC) up the road from me was as beautiful as the one up the road from you 🙂

23 01 2012
Anita Mac

Very cool – may just have to try picking this theme up myself – love the idea! Love the old stereo. Great shot. Recently purchased a 100mm macro – having loads of fun with it!!!

23 01 2012
96arley

I bet. My old boss at Fujifilm gave me the macro lens, it was installed in a film scanner. I was super excited when I realized it was just a Nikon lens with an adapter

24 01 2012
Martina's Design Studios

Great attention to details. Thanks for finding my blog. I like What I see here. Nice work.

24 01 2012
96arley

Thanks Martina, hope to see you around!

24 01 2012
Dr Martin A Stainsby

Nice detail. Good way to spend a wet day.

24 01 2012
96arley

Haha, thanks. It’s fun to push yourself to find some interesting photographs somewhere that may not initially inspire you

24 01 2012
Alex Autin

Really nice shots Arley! Is there a deadline on your challenge?

24 01 2012
96arley

No Deadline, this is going to be an ongoing thing here I think. I want to share other blogger/photographers here. As long as your photos fit in with the blog, I’d love to share them. Be sure to write a bit about how you created the photo or share some thoughts or a story around the photo

24 01 2012
Cee Neuner

I love the shoe!!!

24 01 2012
96arley

Haha, thanks, I couldn’t pass it up, they’re so comfortable too, lol

25 01 2012
Drew Needleman

Thank you for the great read. Will check back when I get a chance.

30 01 2012
96arley

I’m glad you enjoyed it. I like being readable as much as I like to have good pictures 🙂

28 01 2012
Rebekah

I’m coming here from Quotidian Hudson … you have some awesome work here! A macro lens would be cool to have.

28 01 2012
96arley

It’s a worthy investment. I’ll probably do some reviews of the different lenses I use one day

30 01 2012
ijustlovethis

nicely done 😉

30 01 2012
96arley

Thanks, glad you liked it

30 01 2012
jmpix

Loving the macro..you may have convinced me to buy a new lens….hmmmm… 🙂

31 01 2012
96arley

I have the 60mm Macro from Nikon in my Amazon store (I also have a Canon Macro lens if you play for the other team :).) If you buy there I get a little referral money and they do some special deals for you, I think free shipping is one of them. My Store No pressure though, if you can find a better price, go for it

31 01 2012
MikeC366

Loving the first shot. I cannot put a finger on it, but it reminds me 80s rock music. Bizarre I guess, but it does evoke images of Whitesnake, Purple, Maiden and others. I like the others, but this one prods the recesses of my memories.
Thanks you.
Mike.

31 01 2012
96arley

Haha, it evokes images of Lester Flat, Doc Watson, and the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band’s will the circle be unbroken album for my dad. It used to be his 🙂

Leave a Reply

