Rock Presbyterian Church

18 01 2012

Rock Presbyterian church is an old church in my town. It’s not far off the main highway and it has a sign just off the main road. I’d never actually seen the church though so I decided it would be a great stop for my shootabout. Coming down the road I decided I wanted to try a few shots with my 135 Prime DC lens. I started walking up the road to get a good angle on the church when 2 large rottweiler’s started barking and jumping against the fence. The four foot fence was the only thing protecting me from certain death so I decided I really wanted to get some wide angle shots instead.

After a quick lens change I started walking around the church with a 17-35 f/2.8 lens. I was drawn to the sign, I hadn’t realized the church was as old as it was. It had been founded in 1770, rebuilt in 1815, burned down and had finally been rebuilt again in 1959.

Not that I don’t love a blue sky but I really wish I could have caught a bit of overcast to add some depth to the image. I might look for a dark orange sunset one day and try to revisit the church. Same image below, post editing.

Perhaps this is a little out of place but I wanted to throw a snippet in about using software. One of the things Adobe Photoshop is great for is getting rid of little camera distortions. When you use a wide angle lens, one of the tendencies is for the subject to appear as if it leaning away from you. Using a few features within the “Free Transform” tool you can get rid of this. Notice the first image, the church appears to lean away and the angles look a little off. All I did was  played with the perspective, distortion, and warp tools until I got what I wanted. Let me know if that ever comes in handy for you.

Last image. I framed up this shot with some foliage on either side of the Statue of St. Francis*. I liked the pine straw and the stone wall contrasting immediately behind him and the little sprouts in the foreground give the image nice depth.

(*I thought this was a Christ statue at first but was corrected by Mona who also shared the very beautiful prayer of St. Francis below in the comments. I recommend her blog for many beautiful prayers and photos as well as the occasional thought provoking devotional tidbit.)

Hope you enjoyed the second post as much as I enjoyed shooting and writing it. I’d love yo hear form you so comment below or email arleyseth@gmail.com with your feedback or submissions, I’d love to feature you on the blog next.

Thanks! God Bless -Arley

Actions

Information

14 responses

18 01 2012
Lady Deidre

Pretty church! God Bless you!

19 01 2012
96arley

Thank You! Your pictures are absolutely gorgeous too!

19 01 2012
Setiaji Pamungkas

nice photoshot 😀

26 01 2012
96arley

Thanks, Glad you’ve enjoyed them

19 01 2012
valzone

These are super shots, I love them. Sharing tips are always welcome, thanks for sharing these.
Val (UK).

19 01 2012
96arley

Your Welcome! I’m still pretty new to the blogging scene and trying to find my niche. I’m leaning towards a mix of fun stories about the shoots with tips and tricks. I might even do a few full blown tutorials before it’s said and done.

20 01 2012
Chillbrook

A lovely church and lovely images

20 01 2012
96arley

Thanks, it’s got so much history. I’m going to spend some more time there one day.

21 01 2012
Mona

I love the images and your explanations. One thing: I think the statue is St. Francis. See the bird? Indicative of Francis of Assisi who is the patron saint of animals. He is credited with the beautiful prayer/song:

Prayer of Saint Francis of Assisi

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury,pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
and where there is sadness, joy.

O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek
to be consoled as to console;
to be understood as to understand;
to be loved as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive;
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. Amen

I hope I do not offend by posting this. He is one of my favorite saints and my favorite uncle is named after him. I’m an animal nut and am drawn to those who are the same.

21 01 2012
96arley

Thank you so much Mona. For the correction and for sharing the beautiful prayer. This is one of the things I love about the blog community, so many different people who have knowledge in so many different fields.

24 01 2012
StrangeLittleGirl Photography

Awesome shots with the tree shadows on the church!!

24 01 2012
96arley

Thanks, I appreciate the feedback!

25 01 2012
wolke205

I like the architecture of churches & castles. The last photo is fantastic!

25 01 2012
96arley

Thanks, I really like that one too 🙂

Leave a Reply

